Midnight questions

So its beyond midnight.. almost 1am in the morning… a time for sleep laced reflections but my mind is as alert as someone might be at 9 am on Monday morning all charged with coffee… I still cannot understand how I could be awake and alert and writing.. I have been up since 6 am thanks to my toddler and have had very little undisturbed sleep for about 2 years now.. so all in all boy I am going to pay for this tomorrow morning! but I find midnight or the witching hour questions most significant and very difficult to shrug.. so here goes.. the question of the hour.. literally

What might happen if I decide to just let go of it all?

Why do we push ourselves to do something at all?

At what point in life is it ok to just be?

The answer after a brief uncomfortable and might I add confused pause… to be happy!

Happiness has been studied for decades.. infact it is one of the longest running studies in Harvard, there are happiness coaches now… happiness projects,.. books on happiness… The Dalai Lama himself speaks of its importance…

My take on happiness- we have been singled out from birth.. we have a name, characteristics, like and dislikes, skills, talent, quirks even issues that are unique to us… there is no one who is exactly like us.. we live to be us… we are alive and we come into this world every morning hoping to leave a little bit of ourselves on the shelf.. so to be happy we have to be who we are.. that unique little person .. and to do that and be that.. we have to show up everyday and be a contributor of life.. no matter how hard…no matter how steep..

So to be me… is the only way to be happy!

One thought on “Midnight questions

Leave a comment